top of page

EGS Chapter History

The Epsilon Gamma Sigma Chapter of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., was chartered on June 4, 1968, in Augusta, GA. It was established by Honorable Brothers Edward C. Riley, Dennis Wilds, Herman Lodge, Neal C. Leonard, Turner W. Morris, Frank R. Davis, Leroy L. Pendarvis, Thaddeus A. Harris, and T. A. Hammond. These brothers met earlier by responding to a letter that was written by Brothers Riley, Clark, and Stokes and sent to other brothers in the area on February 9, 1968.  


At the first formal meeting, the following officers were elected: President - Edward C. Riley, Vice President- Dennis Wilds, Secretary- James L. Hill, Assistant Secretary- Neal Leonard, Treasurer- Herman Lodge, Chaplain- Father Turner Morris, and Parliamentarian- Leroy Pendarvis. Epsilon Gamma Sigma held its first Founder's Day Program at the Historic Tabernacle Baptist Church on January 25, 1970. The Honorable Brother Howard Lee, Mayor of Chapel Hill, North Carolina, was the keynote speaker.  

Mission Statement

The brothers of Epsilon Gamma Sigma of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. are the Fraternity's most valuable resource and strength. They are the primary means by which Phi Beta Sigma's objective will be achieved.

In order to accomplish the Fraternity's objectives, it is essential that systems are instituted that effectively embody "Culture For Service and Service For Humanity " and promote Brotherhood Scholarship and Service.

bottom of page